Emergency ContactsUK: +44 151 236 0083Shanghai: +86 21 58602868Hong Kong: +852 2358 4794Singapore: +65 6539 0540

Brendan Cuffe

Brendan Cuffe

Brendan Cuffe

Partner, Marine Engineer

based in Shanghai

Direct Tel: +86 1391 7530835
Office Tel:
Email: brendan.cuffe@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: BSc, I Eng, MIMarEST, MAE

Information

About Brendan

Brendan Cuffe joined Brookes Bell Group in 2008. Since 2010 Brendan has been based in Shanghai working extensively on new building projects and casualty work.

Spending 14 years at sea and becoming a Chief Engineer, Brendan has also worked onshore as a Power Plant Engineer. With comprehensive knowledge of shipping and offshore industries, Brendan has worked on –

  • Tankers
  • Product and chemical carriers
  • Bulk carriers
  • Container ships
  • Platform supply vessels
  • Ro-ro ferries

Onshore Brendan is involved assisting buyers and sellers at shipyards in China.

As a surveyor, Brendan Cuffe provides expert inspection and consultancy services for marine industries, providing evidence as a professional witness in arbitration and court cases.

An experienced surveyor

Brendan had ten years of surveying experience before joining Brookes Bell. With broad responsibility and extensive knowledge he provides advice and guidance that includes -

  • Inspections – Superficial inspection and condition surveys, class record and pre-purchase inspections
  • Failures – Engine, crankshaft, piston, liner, rudders, propellers and tailshafts
  • Disputes – New buildings, sale and purchase, cargo, bunker quality, seaworthiness and machinery
  • Injuries – Personal and asbestos related
  • Collisions – Engine room damage, including hull and machinery disputes
  • Fire, flooding, ice damage and corrosion – Investigating cause, and establishing responsibility
  • Fuel – Performance and consumption assessments

Offering comprehensive surveying and consultancy services, Brendan helps clients by quantifying damage and repairs, helping to settle liability disputes and claims.

Providing onboard management and risk assessment, his work helps to reduce risk from the outset - removing the need for disputes, investigations and potentially damaging court proceedings.

Qualifications
  • Incorporated Engineer with a First Class Certificate of Competency (Motor)
  • B.Sc (Open) degree
Professional Status and Membership of Professional Bodies
  • Member of the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology.
  • Member of The Academy of Experts.

Similar People

Tom Ainsley Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7469 150801 tom.ainsley@brookesbell.com
Brian Boorman Consultant, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7515 597892 brian.boorman@brookesbell.com
Alan Chapman Partner, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7515 597963 alan.chapman@brookesbell.com
Christopher Dyson Partner, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7775 715848 chris.dyson@brookesbell.com
Herman Eijkelenboom Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 1358 5652041 herman.eijkelenboom@brookesbell.com
Matthew Fenton Partner, Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 6286 6571 matthew.fenton@brookesbell.com
Chris Fisher Consultant, Marine Fuel Consultant, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7717 872095 chris.fisher@brookesbell.com
Chris Gascoigne Partner, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7867 356025 chris.gascoigne@brookesbell.com
John Gibson Partner, Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 966 11179 john.gibson@brookesbell.com
Xin'gan Lin Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 136 2509 0599 xingan.lin@brookesbell.com
Ray Luukas Senior Partner, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7770 440342 ray.luukas@brookesbell.com
Conan O'Driscoll Associate, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7818 598465 conan.odriscoll@brookesbell.com
Andrew Page Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7584 212 221 andrew.page@brookesbell.com
David Spence Consultant, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7770 478916 dave.spence@brookesbell.com
Duncan Tanner Partner, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7515 598114 duncan.tanner@brookesbell.com
Robert Vart Consultant, Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 9031 1478 robert.vart@brookesbell.com
Tom Wilson Partner, Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 9817 7768 tom.wilson@brookesbell.com