Brendan Cuffe

Brendan Cuffe

Return to Our People

Brendan Cuffe

Director of UK, Marine Engineer

based in Liverpool

Direct Tel: +44 7947 354483
Office Tel: +44 151 236 0083
Email: brendan.cuffe@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: BSc, I Eng, MIMarEST, MAE

Information

About Brendan

Brendan Cuffe joined Brookes Bell Group in 2008. Since 2010 Brendan has been based in Shanghai working extensively on new building projects and casualty work.

Spending 14 years at sea and becoming a Chief Engineer, Brendan has also worked onshore as a Power Plant Engineer. With comprehensive knowledge of shipping and offshore industries, Brendan has worked on –

  • Tankers
  • Product and chemical carriers
  • Bulk carriers
  • Container ships
  • Platform supply vessels
  • Ro-ro ferries

Onshore Brendan is involved assisting buyers and sellers at shipyards in China.

As a surveyor, Brendan Cuffe provides expert inspection and consultancy services for marine industries, providing evidence as a professional witness in arbitration and court cases.

An experienced surveyor

Brendan had ten years of surveying experience before joining Brookes Bell. With broad responsibility and extensive knowledge he provides advice and guidance that includes -

  • Inspections – Superficial inspection and condition surveys, class record and pre-purchase inspections
  • Failures – Engine, crankshaft, piston, liner, rudders, propellers and tailshafts
  • Disputes – New buildings, sale and purchase, cargo, bunker quality, seaworthiness and machinery
  • Injuries – Personal and asbestos related
  • Collisions – Engine room damage, including hull and machinery disputes
  • Fire, flooding, ice damage and corrosion – Investigating cause, and establishing responsibility
  • Fuel – Performance and consumption assessments

Offering comprehensive surveying and consultancy services, Brendan helps clients by quantifying damage and repairs, helping to settle liability disputes and claims.

Providing onboard management and risk assessment, his work helps to reduce risk from the outset - removing the need for disputes, investigations and potentially damaging court proceedings.

Qualifications
  • Incorporated Engineer with a First Class Certificate of Competency (Motor)
  • B.Sc (Open) degree
Professional Status and Membership of Professional Bodies
  • Member of the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology.
  • Member of The Academy of Experts.

Similar People

Tom Ainsley Managing Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7469 150801 tom.ainsley@brookesbell.com
Herman Eijkelenboom Managing Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 1358 5652041 herman.eijkelenboom@brookesbell.com
Matthew Fenton Principal Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 6286 6571 matthew.fenton@brookesbell.com
Chris Gascoigne Director of Marine Engineering UK
Sidcup
+44 7867 356025 chris.gascoigne@brookesbell.com
John Gibson Director of Asia, Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 966 11179 john.gibson@brookesbell.com
Mark Lamb Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 96580451 mark.lamb@brookesbell.com
Zhong Lin Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 185 5903 1960 zhong.lin@brookesbell.com
Ray Luukas Chief Technical Officer, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7770 440342 ray.luukas@brookesbell.com
Conan O'Driscoll Managing Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7818 598465 conan.odriscoll@brookesbell.com
Andrew Page Managing Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7584 212 221 andrew.page@brookesbell.com
Mihhail Teor Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7471 994 436 mihhail.teor@brookesbell.com
Martin Twomey Director of Marine Engineering Asia
Shanghai
+86 136 01603637 martin.twomey@brookesbell.com
Chris Fisher Consultant Fuel Specialist, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7717 872095 chris.fisher@brookesbell.com
Robert Vart Consultant Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 9031 1478 robert.vart@brookesbell.com