Emergency ContactsUK: +44 151 236 0083Shanghai: +86 21 58602868Hong Kong: +852 2358 4794Singapore: +65 6539 0540

Christopher Dyson

Christopher Dyson

Christopher Dyson

Partner, Marine Engineer

based in London

Direct Tel: +44 7775 715848
Office Tel: +44 208 300 0190
Email: chris.dyson@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: BEng (Hons), IEng, IMarEng MIMarEST

Information

About Chris

Chris Dyson has been with Brookes Bell Group since 1998. In 2003 he entered into partnership, and he continues to provide specialist advice as a Marine Engineer.

Before joining the Brookes Bell team Chris served at sea for thirteen years on vessels including -

  • LPG and LNG carriers
  • Crude and product tankers
  • Large diesel electric passenger vessels

Rising to the rank of Second Engineer Chris’ expertise includes in depth knowledge of -

  • Slow speed engines
  • Medium speed diesel
  • Diesel electric propulsion
  • Steam turbines
Providing global support for litigation and arbitration

As a respected expert witness Chris has supported international shipping by providing evidence in court and at hearings on both sides of the Atlantic, including -

  • London
  • USA - including in person under deposition
  • France
  • Greece
  • Switzerland

Surveying and providing reports with expert analysis, Chris Dyson offers a comprehensive service that includes inspection and technical analysis of -

  • Passenger cruise ships and ro-ro vessels
  • General cargo vessels
  • Bulk carriers
  • Container ships
  • Tankers
  • Refrigerated and cargo vessels
  • Various small craft
A knowledgeable and experienced Marine Engineer

The diverse survey work Chris Dyson’s undertakes helps him understand the broader impact of any particular incident. His range of investigations offer insight into –

  • Machinery performance and failings – including cranes
  • MARPOL regulations and compliance
  • New building – including pre-purchase inspections
  • Fuel quality issues
  • Major structural damage, including flooding
  • Grounding, fire and technical management – including reasons and responsibility for incidents

Investigating marine incidents that include fatalities, Chris’ reports include complex analysis of concepts linked to –

  • Electrotechnology
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Statics and dynamics
  • Strength of materials and thermodynamics
Qualifications
  • BEng (Honours) Maritime Technology.
  • First Class Combined Certificate of Competency (Steam and Motor).
  • Dangerous Cargo Endorsements for Petroleum and Liquefied Gases.
Professional Status and Membership of Professional Bodies
  • Incorporated Engineer.
  • Member of The Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology.

Similar People

Tom Ainsley Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7469 150801 tom.ainsley@brookesbell.com
Brian Boorman Consultant, Marine Engineer
London
+44 7515 597892 brian.boorman@brookesbell.com
Alan Chapman Consultant, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7515 597963 alan.chapman@brookesbell.com
Brendan Cuffe Partner, Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 1391 7530835 brendan.cuffe@brookesbell.com
Herman Eijkelenboom Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 1358 5652041 herman.eijkelenboom@brookesbell.com
Matthew Fenton Partner, Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 6286 6571 matthew.fenton@brookesbell.com
Chris Fisher Consultant, Marine Fuel Consultant, Marine Engineer
London
+44 7717 872095 chris.fisher@brookesbell.com
Chris Gascoigne Partner, Marine Engineer
London
+44 7867 356025 chris.gascoigne@brookesbell.com
John Gibson Partner, Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 966 11179 john.gibson@brookesbell.com
Xin'gan Lin Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 136 2509 0599 xingan.lin@brookesbell.com
Ray Luukas Senior Partner, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7770 440342 ray.luukas@brookesbell.com
Conan O'Driscoll Associate, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7818 598465 conan.odriscoll@brookesbell.com
Andrew Page Marine Engineer
London
+44 7584 212 221 andrew.page@brookesbell.com
David Spence Consultant, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7770 478916 dave.spence@brookesbell.com
Duncan Tanner Partner, Marine Engineer
London
+44 7515 598114 duncan.tanner@brookesbell.com
Robert Vart Consultant, Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 9031 1478 robert.vart@brookesbell.com
Tom Wilson Partner, Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 9817 7768 tom.wilson@brookesbell.com