Emergency ContactsUK: +44 151 236 0083Shanghai: +86 21 58602868Hong Kong: +852 2358 4794Singapore: +65 6539 0540

Daniel Sheard

Daniel Sheard

Daniel Sheard

Partner, Consulting Scientist

based in Liverpool

Direct Tel: + 44 7802 203683
Office Tel: +44 151 236 0083
Email: daniel.sheard@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: MA, MSc, PhD (Cantab), CPhys, MInstP, FIFST

Information

About Daniel

Dr Daniel Sheard has been a partner at Brookes Bell since May 2001.

Offering a scientific approach to damage, spoilage and deterioration, Daniel provides expert sampling, analysis and evidence for incidents involving commodities such as -

  • Bagged and bulk products - Sugar, rice, cocoa
  • Seed cake cargoes - Soya bean meal, corn gluten feed, sunflower pellets and cottonseed meal
  • Edible oils and whole oilseeds
  • Fertilisers, chemicals and fishmeal
  • Refrigerated and frozen cargoes - Fish, meat, fruit and vegetables
  • Grain - Maize (corn), wheat, barley, sorghum
  • Minerals and coal – including ores and concentrates

Helping prevent loss, Dr Sheard advises on -

  • Safe carriage
  • Storage
  • Infestation and fumigation of cargoes
  • Detection of genetically modified (GM) foodstuffs
Applying science to prevention and investigations

Specialising in carriage and deterioration Daniel identified the source and safe control of infestation of cargoes.

Daniel’s expertise with cargo has also been used to investigate cargo fires and explosions - including coal, direct reduced iron and incidences of spontaneous combustion.

Attending on board ship Dr Sheard advises on –

  • Cause – Identifying key factors
  • Extent – Determining the size of the problem
  • Remedy – Offering advice to stop continuing loss and prevent recurrence

Capable of providing advice in person or by assessing documentary evidence, Daniel has been involved in several investigations of heating and deterioration, offering technical advice for the safe carriage of –

  • Materials that may liquefy
  • Nickel ore
  • Iron ore fines

Preparing technical scientific reports, Daniel has given evidence in court and at arbitration hearings in the United Kingdom and the USA.

Qualifications
  • Ph.D in the Physics of Sound Transmission in Arctic Waters, Scott Polar
  • Research Institute/Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics
  • MSc Microbiology (Distinction)
  • BA (first class) in Natural Sciences, including – Physics, Chemistry, Cellular Biology and Mathematics.
Publications

Dr Sheard co-authored -

  • An Analytical Technique for Solving an Arctic Acoustic Model (1992)
  • Wave Scattering in a Rough Elastic Layer Adjoining a fluid half-space (1995)
  • Cargo Ventilation (2006)
Awards

The Hartree and Clerk Maxwell University Prizes for first place in Physics final examinations (whilst at Cambridge University)

Academic career
  • Master of Mathematics and Careers Master, Eton College, Windsor (1994-96)
  • Lector and Director of Studies in Applied Mathematics, Christ's College, Cambridge (1992-94)
  • Research Student at Scott Polar Research Institute and Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, Cambridge (1990-94)
Professional Status and Membership of Professional Bodies
  • Member of the Institute of Physics. Chartered Physicist.
  • Fellow of the Institute of Food Science and Technology

Similar People

Kai Aamlid Partner, Consulting Scientist
London
+47 469 87828 kai.aamlid@brookesbell.com
Penelope Cooke Associate, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597712 penelope.cooke@brookesbell.com
Nicholas Crouch Partner, Consulting Scientist
Shanghai
+86 1368 1991503 nicholas.crouch@brookesbell.com
Chris Fisher Consultant, Marine Fuel Consultant, Marine Engineer
London
+44 7717 872095 chris.fisher@brookesbell.com
Daria Hinz Partner, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597711 daria.hinz@brookesbell.com
Martin Jonas Partner, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7887 997132 martin.jonas@brookesbell.com
David Moore Fuel Chemist
London
+44 7515 597852 david.moore@brookesbell.com
Tim Moss Partner, Consulting Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 9107 7727 tim.moss@brookesbell.com
Luigi Petrone Consulting Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 9026 7875 luigi.petrone@brookesbell.com
Sandy Polak Consultant Tribologist
London
+44 7771 520 860 sandy.polak@brookesbell.com
Alan Smaridge Partner, Fuel Chemist
London
+44 7515 596488 alan.smaridge@brookesbell.com