Emergency ContactsUK: +44 151 236 0083Shanghai: +86 21 58602868Hong Kong: +852 2358 4794Singapore: +65 6539 0540

John Third

John Third

John Third

Consultant, Master Mariner

based in London

Direct Tel: +44 7798 690537
Office Tel: +44 20 8300 0190
Email: john.third@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: Extra Master Mariner

Information

John Third has an Extra Master Mariner's Certificate. He joined Brookes Bell in 1981, and in 1982 and 1983 was staff surveyor, and then resident partner, with Brookes Bell, Marine Consultants, Hong Kong. He was a partner from 1984 to 2010, and is now a Consultant.

His main specialist activity concerns navigation and seamanship, including ship-handling. He has conducted detailed investigations of casualties, including groundings both off-shore and in pilotage waters, port and berth safety, collisions between ships and between ships and off-shore structures. Investigations in this field of marine activity include salvage and refloating.

His second specialist activity is the investigation of major container stowage collapses and a range of cargo securing system failures, including very large packaged timber deck stowage systems. He conducted loss prevention investigations for underwriters at Lloyd's.

He has extensive survey experience with general commodities, refrigerated, timber, steel, dry bulk including grain, liquid bulk, hazardous and heavy-lift cargoes on a worldwide basis. He has undertaken hull structural surveys afloat and in drydock, surveys of collisions and damages, damages caused by missile attacks, and has prepared repair specifications for both minor and major works. He has investigated the loss of ships without trace.

He has attended special training courses in bridge organisation and teamwork and advanced pilotage. He attends ship simulator training on a regular basis.

He has prepared technical reports for, and has given expert witness testimony at, variously, arbitrations in the United Kingdom and the United States, the Commercial and Criminal Court in the United Kingdom, the Federal Court in the United States, the Supreme Court in Hong Kong, the Supreme Court in Singapore and at a Seeamt Enquiry in Germany.

Before becoming a marine surveyor, John Third was at sea over a fourteen-year period, serving on passenger and cargo liners, general cargo and refrigerated vessels, bulk carriers and off-shore diving and support ships, in all ranks from cadet to master. Immediately before joining Brookes Bell, he was project manager for a dynamically-positioned off-shore diving and support vessel.

Similar People

David Anderson Consultant, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7770 440338 david.anderson@brookesbell.com
Charles Bliault Consultant, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7770 440340 charles.bliault@brookesbell.com
Graeme Bowles Consultant, Master Mariner
London
+44 7836 658908 graeme.bowles@brookesbell.com
Roger Daniells Associate, Master Mariner
London
+44 7818 597632 roger.daniells@brookesbell.com
Malcolm Dann Consultant, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7770 440339 malcolm.dann@brookesbell.com
Paul Davidson Partner, Master Mariner
Singapore
+65 96 742 380 paul.davidson@brookesbell.com
Richard Gains Partner, Master Mariner
Hong Kong
+852 9031 5617 richard.gains@brookesbell.com
Neil Gardiner Associate, Master Mariner
London
+44 7867 355 603 neil.gardiner@brookesbell.com
Graham Hill Associate, Master Mariner
Hong Kong
+852 9036 5586 graham.hill@brookesbell.com
Nikolaos Karimalis Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7392312416 nikolaos.karimalis@brookesbell.com
Mark Keenor Partner, Master Mariner
London
+44 7770 440343 mark.keenor@brookesbell.com
Daniel Millett Associate, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7867 355 623 daniel.millett@brookesbell.com
Adrian Scales Partner, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7725 453194 adrian.scales@brookesbell.com
Ivan Todorov Associate, Master Mariner
Singapore
+65 9171 5531 ivan.todorov@brookesbell.com