Judith Fergus

Judith Fergus

Return to Our People

Judith Fergus

Managing Coating Consultant

based in Liverpool

Direct Tel: +44 74719 97353
Office Tel: +44 151 236 0083
Email: judith.fergus@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: BSc (Hons), CIM Dip. Marketing

Information

Judith Fergus obtained her BSc (Hons) in Applied Chemistry in 1990 at the University of Northumbria. Judith has over 30 years of experience in marine, protective coatings and fire proofing serving Shipping, Oil and Gas and Infrastructure, handling research & development, business development and sales with global companies. She joined Brookes Bell in October 2019 as a Managing Coating Consultant.

Her areas of expertise cover a range of investigative, managerial and paint product development in the Marine and Protective Coatings industry. Judith worked in the technical operations department of a major coating manufacturer for many years.

During her career she has investigated and reported on a wide range of issues related to paint failure and loss of performance such as:

  • Liaising with ship owners, contractor and yards regarding product selection and issues
  • Inspection of fouling and hull damage both at yards and at anchorage
  • Failure of paint in cargo holds, chemical tanks and ballast tanks
  • Cargo contamination by previous cargoes adsorbed onto paint surface
  • Visual deterioration of cosmetic finishes due to staining, UV and discolouration
  • Paint damage due to aggressive cargoes
  • Investigation of paint failure due to application issues or coating selection e.g. cracking, detachment, blistering, chalking and softening
  • Collection of appropriate forensic evidence e.g. photographs, paint flake samples, on-site measurements, blister fluid, amine bloom samples etc
  • Understanding of complex analytical test reports

Similar People

Kai Aamlid Senior Scientist
London
+47 469 87828 kai.aamlid@brookesbell.com
Penelope Cooke Managing Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597712 penelope.cooke@brookesbell.com
Nicholas Crouch Principal Scientist
Shanghai
+86 1368 1991503 nicholas.crouch@brookesbell.com
Daria Hinz Senior Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597711 daria.hinz@brookesbell.com
Martin Jonas Director of Science UK
Liverpool
+44 7887 997132 martin.jonas@brookesbell.com
Wen Li Scientist
Shanghai
+86 17 8212 20558 wen.li@brookesbell.com
Tim Moss Director of Science Asia
Hong Kong
+852 9107 7727 tim.moss@brookesbell.com
Luigi Petrone Senior Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 9026 7875 luigi.petrone@brookesbell.com
Marcelo Rodrigues Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7770440344 marcelo.rodrigues@brookesbell.com
Daniel Sheard Principal Scientist
Liverpool
+ 44 7471 995920 daniel.sheard@brookesbell.com
Karwei So Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 5685 1819 karwei.so@brookesbell.com
Bryan Ward Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7469 353950 bryan.ward@brookesbell.com