Emergency ContactsUK: +44 151 236 0083Shanghai: +86 21 58602868Hong Kong: +852 2358 4794Singapore: +65 6539 0540

Luigi Petrone

Luigi Petrone

Luigi Petrone

Consulting Scientist

based in Hong Kong

Direct Tel: +852 9026 7875
Office Tel: +852 2358 4794
Email: luigi.petrone@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: PhD CSci CMarSci MIMarEST MRSC MRSB

Information

Dr Luigi Petrone, an Italian-born Scientist, joined Brookes Bell in 2015 after obtaining his PhD in Chemistry and five years' post-doctoral experience between New Zealand, Sweden, the United Kingdom and Singapore.

Prior to joining Brookes Bell, he carried out academic research as a Senior Research Fellow for 10 years within international multidisciplinary projects at the interface between marine science, chemistry, biology and materials science. Luigi liaised with industrial partners on R&D aspects of novel adhesive and anti-fouling technologies. His research focused on the formulation of coatings for marine anti-fouling applications via a wide range of surface modifications and surface-sensitive analytical techniques.

His scientific and surveying expertise concerns the ocean carriage and storage of a wide variety of commodities. Luigi has attended on board a wide variety of vessel types to carry out investigations into the nature, cause and extent of cargo deterioration, cargo fires and explosions, and other marine claims such as liquefaction and fumigation-related issues.

Luigi is also involved in the evaluation of paint coatings, their modes and mechanisms of failure, cause and extent of coatings breakdown and fouling to ship’s hull.

Luigi presented at several international conferences, published about 20 peer-reviewed articles in prestigious scientific journals (i.e. Nature Communications, Advanced Functional Materials, Advances in Colloids and Interface Science) and acts as a referee for a series of scientific journals.

Professional Status and Membership of Professional Bodies
  • Chartered Scientist (CSci) and Chartered Marine Scientist (CMarSci)
  • Member of the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST)
  • Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry (MRSC)
  • Member of the Royal Society of Biology (MRSB)

Similar People

Kai Aamlid Partner, Consulting Scientist
Sidcup
+47 469 87828 kai.aamlid@brookesbell.com
Penelope Cooke Associate, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597712 penelope.cooke@brookesbell.com
Nicholas Crouch Partner, Consulting Scientist
Shanghai
+86 1368 1991503 nicholas.crouch@brookesbell.com
Chris Fisher Consultant, Marine Fuel Consultant, Marine Engineer
Sidcup
+44 7717 872095 chris.fisher@brookesbell.com
Daria Hinz Partner, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597711 daria.hinz@brookesbell.com
Martin Jonas Partner, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7887 997132 martin.jonas@brookesbell.com
David Moore Fuel Chemist
Sidcup
+44 7515 597852 david.moore@brookesbell.com
Tim Moss Partner, Consulting Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 9107 7727 tim.moss@brookesbell.com
Sandy Polak Consultant Tribologist
Sidcup
+44 7771 520 860 sandy.polak@brookesbell.com
Daniel Sheard Partner, Consulting Scientist
Liverpool
+ 44 7802 203683 daniel.sheard@brookesbell.com
Alan Smaridge Partner, Fuel Chemist
Sidcup
+44 7515 596488 alan.smaridge@brookesbell.com