Emergency ContactsUK: +44 151 236 0083Shanghai: +86 21 58602868Hong Kong: +852 2358 4794Singapore: +65 6539 0540

Richard Gains

Richard Gains

Richard Gains

Partner, Master Mariner

based in Hong Kong

Direct Tel: +852 9031 5617
Office Tel: +852 2358 4794
Email: richard.gains@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: Master Mariner, MNI

Information

An experienced casualty investigator and ship master, with over 15 years in marine surveying and 22 years at sea. Drawing upon his command experience he provides clients with expert opinions and forensic analysis on an extensive range of nautical issues worldwide as well as giving expert evidence in the courts and at arbitrations. He has been involved a number of complex and high profile cases such as the TOREPO, MAERSK COLOMBO and more recently the OCEAN VICTORY unsafe port dispute.

As a practical surveyor he has attended many different types of casualties including collisions, groundings, fires, cargo damages and wreck removals. Following the HEBEI SPIRIT oil pollution incident off the West Coast of South Korea, Richard assisted in the processing of thousands of claims on behalf of the IOPC Fund and acted as the local representative for the P&I Club and IOPC Fund during meetings with the Korean Government, local authorities and claimants. Following his involvement with the HEBEI SPIRIT, he was appointed as an arbitrator to the Panel of International Arbitrators by the Korean Commercial Arbitration Board.

Similar People

David Anderson Consultant, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7770 440338 david.anderson@brookesbell.com
Charles Bliault Consultant, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7770 440340 charles.bliault@brookesbell.com
Graeme Bowles Consultant, Master Mariner
Sidcup
+44 7836 658908 graeme.bowles@brookesbell.com
Roger Daniells Associate, Master Mariner
Sidcup
+44 7818 597632 roger.daniells@brookesbell.com
Malcolm Dann Consultant, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7770 440339 malcolm.dann@brookesbell.com
Paul Davidson Partner, Master Mariner
Singapore
+65 96 742 380 paul.davidson@brookesbell.com
Neil Gardiner Associate, Master Mariner
Shanghai
+86 1381 658 9952 neil.gardiner@brookesbell.com
Graham Hill Associate, Master Mariner
Hong Kong
+852 9036 5586 graham.hill@brookesbell.com
Mark Keenor Partner, Master Mariner
Sidcup
+44 7770 440343 mark.keenor@brookesbell.com
Daniel Millett Associate, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7867 355 623 daniel.millett@brookesbell.com
Adrian Scales Partner, Master Mariner
Liverpool
+44 7725 453194 adrian.scales@brookesbell.com
John Third Consultant, Master Mariner
Sidcup
+44 7798 690537 john.third@brookesbell.com
Ivan Todorov Associate, Master Mariner
Singapore
+65 9171 5531 ivan.todorov@brookesbell.com